Eva Lassman Awards

Eva Lassman Memorial Student Research Award

Each year, in honor of the life and memory of Holocaust survivor and educator Eva Lassman, the Institute for Hate Studies presents the Eva Lassman Memorial Student Research Award.  One $700 annual award supports Gonzaga undergraduate or graduate students who are engaged in research projects that address issues of hate. 

Any student currently enrolled and in good standing in an undergraduate, graduate or professional studies program (e.g. law, business, leadership) at Gonzaga may apply.  Award recipient must remain enrolled and in good standing at Gonzaga during the award period.

Eva Lassman Memorial Student Research Award (ELMSRA) Application

Annual Submission Deadline: March 1

For more information about Eva's incredible life, see:


If you are interested in making a gift to the Eva Lassman Memorial Fund, you can do so by contacting the Institute at (509) 313-3665 or through email



Taylor Carnevale, Bachelor of Arts with a major in International Relations and minors in Solidarity and Social Justice and Economics.  "From Advocate to Extremist: Othering as a mobilization tactic in domestic terror."

2017 Inaugural Award Recipient

Marnie Rorholm, Doctoral Program in Leadership Studies, The Pink Triangle Prisoners: Memorializing Homophobia and the Holocaust

Take Action Against Hate Award Recipients:


  • Ken Stern, J.D.
  • International Network for Hate Studies (Mark Walters, University of Sussex and Jennifer Schweppe, University of Limerick)


  • Linda Pall, J.D., Ph.D.
  • World Outside My Shoes (Carl and Teresa Wilkens)


  • Rev. Happy Watkins, New. Hope Baptist Church
  • Kootenai County Task Force on Human Relations


  • Mary Stamp, Editor, The Fig Tree
  • Partners with Families and Children; Spokane


  • Dr. Raymond Reyes, Associate Academic Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer, Gonzaga University
  • Human Rights Education Institute, Coeur d'Alene, Idaho


  • Eva Lassman

Contact the Institute for Hate Studies

Send a message
AD Box 99
502 E. Boone Avenue
Spokane, WA 99258
(509) 313-3665