Eva Lassman Take Action Against Hate Award [TAAH] Nomination

Submission Deadline: Extended to August 20th

Each year, in honor of the life and memory of Holocaust survivor and educator Eva Lassman the Gonzaga Center for the Study of Hate presents the Eva Lassman ‘Take Action Against Hate’ Awards. One individual and one organization are recognized annually for their work to counter hatred in any of its forms. Recipients are honored with a $500 award and are recognized at the Spokane Human Rights Champions Gala, hosted by the Spokane County Human Rights Task Force and the City of Spokane Human Rights Commission.


  • Must be either an individual or an organization working to counter hatred in the local, national, or global community. Examples of hate being addressed might include racism, religious bigotry, sexism, hatred toward LGBTQ community, etc.
  • Individual or organization must demonstrate a commitment to both action and awareness-building within their community (whether local, national, or global).
  • Emphasis will be placed on outcomes and impact of the individual’s or organization’s work.
  • Nominee can be located in any part of the world and be of any age.
  • Must be nominated using the provided form, including a letter of recommendation. Self-nominations are acceptable.
  • Nominees will only be considered in the year that they were nominated. Nominations that are not selected are invited to re-apply.
  • Nomination period extended to August 20

Recipients will be notified on or by September 8. The selection committee reserves the right to require interviews, if deemed necessary. 

Eva Lassman Take Action Against Hate Awards Nomination Form

Questions about the selection process can be directed to Rachelle Strawther, current Chair of the TAAH Awards.


Past Recipients:










2009 Take Action Against Hate Award Inaugural Recipient