About Us

Vision Statement

Because we believe that Gonzaga University students have the potential to meet the profound needs of a complex and ever-changing world, we help them clarify and attain their educational and career goals by:

  • developing a collaborative, community-wide network of career educators,
  • offering relevant and meaningful services and programs to foster and support their success, and
  • teaching them how to navigate lifelong career development.

 

Hours of Operation

8:00am - 5:00pm, M-F
Scheduled Appointment Hours Available During Operating Hours
Drop in Hours: 1:00pm - 4:00pm, M-F

 

Career & Professional Development Staff

Ray Angle Profile Photo
O. Ray Angle, Assistant Vice President for Career & Professional Development
University of Central Missouri, Master of College Student Personnel Administration
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, Bachelor of Business Education
 
First Job: Newspaper Delivery Boy
angle@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4086

 

Kareena Byrd Profile Photo
Kareena Byrd, Recruitment Coordinator
St. Stephen's College, Bachelor of Arts in English
 
First Job: Volunteer Childcare Provider at Precious Moment Abode of Love Orphanage
byrdk@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4333

 

Katherine Brackmann Profile Photo
Katherine Brackmann, Assistant Director, Graduate & Professional School Engagement
Gonzaga University, Bachelor of Education in Sport Management, 2010
 
First Job: Nanny
brackmann@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4237
 
 
Karen Franks-Harding Profile Photo
Karen Franks-Harding, Manager, School of Engineering & Applied Science
Gonzaga University, Master of Arts in Organization Leadership, 2008
Gonzaga University, Bachelor of Arts in General Studies, 2006
 
First Job: Roy Rogers Roast Beef Sandwich Shop
franks-harding@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4085

 

Patty Hetu-Tkacik Profile Photo
Patricia Hetu-Tkacik, Recruiter in Residence
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Masters in Aeronautical Science, 1991
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Bachelor of Science in Aeronautical Science, 1983
 
First Job: General Aviation Flight Instructor
hetu-tkacik@gonzaga.edu | 509-313-4055

 

 

Mary Heitkemper Profile Photo
Mary Ritter Heitkemper, Director, Academic Engagement
Gonzaga University, Doctor of Philosophy in Educational Leadership, 1998
Gonzaga University, Master of Arts in Administration & Curriculum, 1990
Washington State University, Bachelor of Arts in English, 1988
 
First Job: Bank Teller
heitkemper@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4231

 

Vicki Hucke Portrait
Vicki Hucke, Assistant Director, Employer Engagement
Montana State University, Bachelor of Arts in Communications, 1988
 
First Job: Chinese Takeout
hucke@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4021

 

Mel McNair-Davis Profile Photo
Mel McNair-Davis, Budget and Research Specialist
Gonzaga University, Master of Arts in Organizational Leadership, 2016
Gonzaga University, Bachelor of Arts in History, 2012
First Job: Tiger Caretaker
mcnair@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4234

 

Brittany Leland Profile Photo
Brittany Leland, Director, Career Education
Gonzaga University, Master of Arts in Education, School Counseling, 2012
Gonzaga University, Bachelor of Arts in Applied Communications, 2008
 
First Job: IMAX Theater
leland@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4250

 

Molly Spilker Profile Photo
Molly Spilker, Office Assistant
Gonzaga University, Bachelor of Arts in History, Music
 
First Job: Driver
spilker@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4234

 

Erin Shields Profile Photo
Erin Shields, Director, Alumni & Employer Engagement
Western Washington University, Bachelor of Arts in Communication, Minor in Theater, 2000
Gonzaga in Florence,1999
 
First Job: Barista
shieldse@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4048
 

Contact Career & Professional Development for More Information

Send a message
Crosby
502 E. Boone
Spokane, WA 99258
509-313-4234