About Us

Vision Statement

Because we believe that Gonzaga University students have the potential to meet the profound needs of a complex and ever-changing world, we help them clarify and attain their educational and career goals by:

  • developing a collaborative, community-wide network of career educators,
  • offering relevant and meaningful services and programs to foster and support their success, and
  • teaching them how to navigate lifelong career development.

Hours of Operation

8:00am - 5:00pm, M-F
Scheduled Appointment Hours Available During Operating Hours

Career & Professional Development Staff

Ray Angle Profile Photo
O. Ray Angle, Assistant Vice President for Career & Professional Development
University of Central Missouri, Master of College Student Personnel Administration
Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, Bachelor of Business Education

First Job: Newspaper Delivery Boy
angle@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4086
Katherine Brackmann Profile Photo
Katherine Brackmann, Assistant Director, Graduate & Professional School Engagement
Gonzaga University, Master of Arts in Organizational Leadership
Gonzaga University, Bachelor of Education in Sport Management

First Job: Babysitter
brackmann@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4237
Portrait of Jonathan Byers
Jonathan Byers, Director of Career Education
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Master of Education in School Counseling
University of North Carolina at Asheville, Bachelor of Science in Physics

First Job: Church Janitor
byersj2@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4667
Kareena Byrd Profile Photo
Kareena Byrd, Recruitment Coordinator
St. Stephen's College, Bachelor of Arts in English

First Job: Volunteer Childcare Provider at Precious Moment Abode of Love Orphanage
byrdk@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4333
Karen Franks-Harding Profile Photo
Karen Franks-Harding, Manager, School of Engineering & Applied Science
Gonzaga University, Master of Arts in Organization Leadership
Gonzaga University, Bachelor of Arts in General Studies

First Job: Roy Rogers Roast Beef Sandwich Shop
franks-harding@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4085
Patty Hetu-Tkacik Profile Photo
Patty Hetu-Tkacik, Recruiter in Residence
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Masters in Aeronautical Science
Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Bachelor of Science in Aeronautical Science

First Job: General Aviation Flight Instructor
hetu-tkacik@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4055
Vicki Hucke Portrait
Vicki Hucke, Assistant Director, Employer Engagement
Montana State University, Bachelor of Arts in Communications

First Job: Chinese Takeout
hucke@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4021
Mel McNair-Davis Profile Photo
Mel McNair-Davis, Budget and Research Specialist
Gonzaga University, Master of Arts in Organizational Leadership
Gonzaga University, Bachelor of Arts in History

First Job: Tiger Caretaker
mcnair@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4234
Devon Seward Howland, Manager, Career Education
National University, Master of Science in Human Resource Management
Illinois State University, Bachelor of Science in Economics

First Job: Cook
sewardhowland@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4250
Molly Spilker Profile Photo
Molly Spilker, Office Assistant
Gonzaga University, Bachelor of Arts in History, Music

First Job: Driver
spilker@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4234
Erin Shields Profile Photo
Erin Shields, Director, Alumni & Employer Engagement
Western Washington University, Bachelor of Arts in Communication, Minor in Theater
Gonzaga in Florence

First Job: Barista
shieldse@gonzaga.edu | 509.313.4048