Faculty Excellence and Emeritus Faculty Recognition Event

Emeritus Faculty Honored

On May 3, 2021, President McCulloh conferred the rank of Emeritus on 13 faculty who have rendered “generous and distinguished service” to their colleagues, students, the College/School, the University, and their broader professional community.

Noel Bormann

Civil Engineering

Susan Boysen (click here for comments by Dr. Boysen)


Jason Chen (Dr. Chen's comments are available in the recording at 27:27)

Management Information Systems

Beth Cooley


Robert Hauck (Dr. Hauck's comments are available in the recording at 38:49)

Religious Studies

Cynthia Johnson (click here for comments by Dr. Johnson and see recording at 43:27)

Educational Leadership & Administration

David Kingma (Assoc. Professor Emeritus Kingma's comments are available in the recording at 50:00)

Foley Library

Stefania Nedderman (Dr. Nedderman expressed her thanks; see recording at 53:28) Modern Languages & Literature

Wayne Pomerleau


Linda Schearing 

Religious Studies

 Mark Shrader (Dr. Shrader's comments are available in the recording at 1:05:25)  Finance
 John Wagner  Philosophy
 Robert Waterman (Dr. Waterman expressed his thanks; see recording at 1:13:32)   Political Science


Academic Excellence Faculty Awards, May 3, 2021

Faculty awards are granted through an open nomination process and thoughtful review by the peers serving on the Faculty Award Committee. Community Engaged Learning Award is presented by the Center for Community Engagement. Compass Award is presented by Career and Professional Development.


Faculty Award

Faculty and Department

Academic Citizenship

Megan McCabe, Religious Studies

Collaborative Work and Innovation

Martin Schiavenato & Joan Owens, Nursing

Open Award 

Laura Truitt, Art

Professional Contributions (Tenured)

Vincent Alfonso, Counselor Education

Professional Contributions (Tenure-Track)

Raven Maragh-Lloyd, Communication Studies

Diversity Leadership

Naghme Morlock, Sociology and Criminology

Teaching Excellence (Tenured)

Vikas Gumbhir, Sociology and Criminology

 Teaching Excellence (Tenure Track) Caoimhin De Barra, History

Teaching Excellence (Non Tenure-Track)

Susan Edwards, Nursing

Community Engaged Learning

 Kathleen Nitta, Teacher Education

Full event recording, May 3, 2021

To Learn More, Contact Bonnie Harper, Assistant to the Provost

Send a message
College Hall or Ad Box 99
Spokane, WA 99258