NWCCU Accreditation Process

The Commission recently changed the ten year accreditation cycle with nine standards to a seven year accreditation cycle with five standards. The new standards are as follows:

  1. Mission and Core Themes
  2. Resources and Capacity
  3. Planning and Implementation
  4. Effectiveness and Improvement
  5. Mission Fulfillment, Adaptation, Sustainability

The standards frame a comprehensive analysis of the University's ability to provide a quality education within the context of its mission and values as represented in its core themes. The Standards are explained in depth on the NWCCU Standards for Accreditation webpage.

Accreditation reports are submitted in year one, year three, and year seven. In the University's current accreditation cycle, reports have been or will be submitted according to the following schedule:

  • The year-one report: Mission and Core Themes (Spring 2015).
  • The year-three report, called a Mid-Cycle Review, examines an institution's assessment planning process, provides examples of student learning, and addresses readiness in moving toward the year-seven report (Spring 2017).
  • The year-seven report describes all five standards and covers multiple aspects of the University's operations across academic and non-academic areas (Spring 2021).