Contests, Scholarships & Awards

Our students display a remarkable breadth and depth of skill, from scholarly excellence to expository writing, poetry, fiction, and creative nonfiction.

The Department of English is proud to offer a number of awards which recognize undergraduate achievement.

  • The Anthony T. Wadden and Michael B. Herzog Scholarship is an academic scholarship presented annually to an English major, which honors two professors emerita.
  • The Fr. William T. Costello, S.J. Outstanding Senior English Major Award is presented to a graduating senior as selected by members of the department. The award is named after a former Professor and Chair of Gonzaga's English Department who died at age 49 in 1963. This award is presented at the College of Arts & Sciences Student Awards Ceremony during Commencement Weekend.
  • The Michael and Gail Gurian Writing Awards are presented annually to student writers in the genres of poetry, fiction, and nonfiction. This award is traditionally presented at the academic year's final Gonzaga University Visiting Writers Series. A cash prize is distributed among winners.
  • The Gonzaga Schneider Contest seeks the best student writing projects from the year's First-Year Writing and Introduction to Literature courses. Submissions are evaluated by faculty of the English Department, and first, second and third place from both Writing and Literature are awarded cash prizes.

Want to connect with the English Department?