Eva Lassman Take Action Against Hate Award [TAAH] Nomination


Submission Deadline: July 31

Each year, in honor of the life and memory of Holocaust survivor and educator Eva Lassman the Gonzaga Institute for Hate Studies presents the Eva Lassman ‘Take Action Against Hate’ Awards. One individual and one organization are recognized annually for their work to counter hatred in any of its forms.  Winners of the award recognized  at an (event in the Fall) or (Spokane Human Rights Champions Awards Banquet). Recipients of the award will be honored with a $500 award.


  • Must be either an individual or an organization working to counter hatred in the local, national, or global community. Examples of hate being addressed might include racism, religious bigotry, sexism, hatred toward LGBTQ community, etc.
  • Individual or organization must demonstrate a commitment to both action and awareness-building within their community (whether local, national, or global).
  • Emphasis will be placed on outcomes and impact of the individual’s or organization’s work.
  • Nominee can be located in any part of the world and be of any age.
  • Must be nominated using the provided form, including a letter of recommendation. Self-nominations are acceptable.
  • Nominees will only be considered in the year that they were nominated. Nominations that are not selected are invited to re-apply.
  • Nominations must be submitted by July 31.


Recipients will be notified on or by August 15.  The selection committee reserves the right to require interviews, if deemed necessary. 

Past Recipients:








2009 Take Action Against Hate Award Inaugural Recipient