Eva Lassman Memorial Student Research [ELMSRA] Award Application

Annual Submission Deadline: March 15

Each year, in honor of the life and memory of Holocaust survivor and educator Eva Lassman, the Institute for Hate Studies presents the Eva Lassman Memorial Student Research Award. Annually one $1,000 award and additional smaller award(s) support Gonzaga undergraduate or graduate students who are engaged in research projects that address issues of hate. 

Any student currently enrolled and in good standing in an undergraduate, graduate or professional studies program (e.g. law, business, leadership) at Gonzaga may apply.  Award recipient must remain enrolled and in good standing at Gonzaga during the award period.

Past Recipients 


  • Sharon Jang, Increasing Anti-Asian Hate Crimes: The Experiences of Asian and Asian-American Students Attending Gonzaga University During the COVID-19 Pandemic (First Place)
  • Shane Fugate, Food Accessibility at Gonzaga University (Honorable Mention) 
  • Emma Wood, The Alt-Right Pipeline: Political Radicalization during the Internet Era (Honorable Mention)  


  • Manojprabhakran Thirupal, White Supremacy in the Northwest (First Place) 
  • Christopher Combs, Gay in Cuba: Analyzing Sexual Stigmatization through the Lens of Class-based Experiences in a “Classless” Society (Honorable Mention)



  • Taylor Carnevale, From Advocate to Extremist: Othering as a mobilization tactic in domestic terror. 

2017 Inaugural Endowment Award Recipient 


  • Hillary McNeel, Criminal Justice, University of Central Missouri - "Hate Crimes Against American Indians/Alaska Natives;"  Access Online
  • Sarah Owens Williams, MATESL, Gonzaga University - "Globalizing North Idaho: Using Ethnographies to Raise Awareness of Local Diversity;" 
  • Jourdan Cruz, Psychology, Gonzaga University - "Implicit Racial Biases: Grappling with Modern Racism and Its Unconscious Manifestations"


  • Michael Kincaid "Examining the Relationship between Helplessness and Hate;"  
  • Carla Hasley "Impacts of Holocaust Mandated Education on Secondary Education Teachers"