Human Resource Staff


Cliessa Allen

Human Resources Office Assistant
(509) 313-5997
allenc@gonzaga.edu

Cliessa is responsible for answering general Human Resource questions, assisting employees with completing paperwork, and providing general clerical support for the Human Resource team.  She is also responsible for the completion of employment verifications. She joined the Gonzaga Human Resources team in 2014.

Kelli Davin
Communications Coordinator
(509) 313-5996
davin@gonzaga.edu

Kelli is responsible for answering general Human Resources questions while connecting customers to the correct Human Resources team member for assistance. Kelli also assists in scheduling meetings for the Human Resources team and trainings across campus. She joined the Gonzaga Human Resources team in 2016.

Caris Friberg
Talent Acquisition Specialist
(509) 313-5915
fribergc@gonzaga.edu

Caris is responsible for coordination of the employment function by screening and processing applications, the recruiting and hiring processes, and ensuring consistency with Gonzaga's Mission, EEO/Affirmative Action, and diversity initiative.  She joined the Gonzaga Human Resources team in 2015.

Larry Hagel
Safety Programs Manager

(509) 313-5856
hagel@gonzaga.edu

Larry is responsible for the development and implementation of employee safety programs, building and grounds safety, chemical hygiene safety which includes hazardous waste disposal, safety training, ergonomics, and emergency preparedness. Prior to coming to Gonzaga, he developed hazardous waste operations and emergency preparedness plans for large companies in the northwest. He joined the Gonzaga Human Resources team in 2013.

Juanita Jiminez

Employee Relations Officer
(509) 313-6909
jiminez@gonzaga.edu

Juanita is responsible for coordinating Gonzaga's Employee Relations efforts and Equal Opportunity involving staff members. She will also assist with Affirmative Action, 90 Day Check-Ins, Exit Interviews and Human Resources training programs. She joined the Gonzaga Human Resources team in 2015.

Tracy Kelly
HRIS Manager

(509) 313-5857
kelly@gonzaga.edu

Tracy is responsible for Human Resources information systems and workflow.  She joined the Gonzaga Human Resources team in 2001.

Paige Powers
Total Rewards Coordinator
(509) 313-6837
powersp@gonzaga.edu

Paige is responsible for the total rewards function of Human Resources by assisting in timely data entry, processing, tracking and approving benefit and compensation data information. Paige joined the Gonzaga Human Resources team in 2016.

Christine Purviance
Assistant Director, Human Resources

(509) 313-5858
purviance@gonzaga.edu

Christine is responsible for serving employees, faculty, and students through the oversight and enforcement of the Equal Opportunity and Affirmative Action functions of the University.  She joined the Gonzaga Human Resources team in 2013.

Lisa Schwartzenburg
Benefits Manager

(509) 313-5861
schwartzenburg@gonzaga.edu

Lisa is responsible for the management of the employee benefit programs such as the retirement, medical, dental, life and disability plans. This includes making sure the plans are in compliance with government regulations, are competitive with area businesses, are fiscally sound and meet the needs of our staff and faculty.  She joined the Gonzaga Human Resources team in 2014.

Angela Swan

Benefits & Accommodation Specialist
(509) 313-5852
swana@gonzaga.edu

Angela is responsible for planning, coordinating, communicating, and implementing benefit programs and disability management for employees.  She joined the Gonzaga Human Resources team in 2013.

Melissa Waite
HR Analyst

(509) 313-5853
waitem@gonzaga.edu

Melissa is responsible for assisting with Human Resource Information Systems workflow and processes.  She joined the Gonzaga Human Resources team in 2008.

Stephanie Whaley
Title IX Coordinator

(509) 313-6910
whaleys@gonzaga.edu

Stephanie is responsible for coordinating Gonzaga's efforts under Title IX. She will oversee training efforts, compliance, investigations and will serve as a resource to all community members and external inquires regarding Title IX. She joined the Gonzaga Human Resources team in 2015.

Kirk Wood-Gaines
Assistant Vice President, Human Resources

(509) 313-6827
wood-gaines@gonzaga.edu

Kirk has overall responsibility for the human resource activities of employment, compensation, benefits, affirmative action, training and development, employee relations, personnel policies and procedures, safety programs, workers compensation, and health management.  He joined the Gonzaga Human Resources team in 2012.

HUMAN RESOURCES
Mailing Address
502 E. Boone Ave.
Spokane, WA 99258-0080
Phone: 509.313.5996
Fax: 509.313.5815
www.gonzaga.edu/hr

Located at: 102 E. Boone Ave.
Office hours: 8am-5pm, M-F