President McCulloh's Background

Dr. Thayne M. McCulloh has deep roots
at Gonzaga University

Dr. McCulloh earned his bachelor’s degree in psychology from GU in 1989, and served as a resident assistant and resident director during his undergraduate tenure. He returned in 1990 full time to coordinate the work of the residence hall staff, and except for a one-year leave of absence, has served here ever since in increasingly important administrative roles. He has served as vice president for administration and planning, associate academic vice president, dean of financial services, dean of student academic services, assistant dean of students, and held several other student life positions.

Dr. McCulloh was elected Gonzaga president by the Board of Trustees on July 16, 2010, after serving one year as interim president, succeeding Father Robert J. Spitzer, S.J. McCulloh has been integral in Gonzaga’s successful enrollment management effort over the past 12 years. Enrollment reached an all-time high in fall 2009 with a total of 7,682 students. As interim president, McCulloh engaged the campus community in an effort to define the appropriate size of Gonzaga’s student body in order to maintain the highest academic and student life standards. This effort resulted in an intentionally smaller fall 2010 freshman class.  

As interim president, Dr. McCulloh also helped Gonzaga navigate through the economic downturn, implemented new budgeting procedures for greater efficiencies and focus of dollars on student services, and restructured his administration for greater accessibility and efficiency.  He welcomed in July 2010 a new academic vice president, Dr. Patricia O’Connell Killen, and appointed a new executive vice president, Earl Martin, to oversee Gonzaga’s day-to-day operations. Through all of the initiatives McCulloh has led, Gonzaga’s Jesuit foundation has always been of paramount importance.

Dr. McCulloh leads a cabinet of six vice presidents, chancellor and a corporation counsel that have a combined service to Gonzaga of 150 years.

Thayne M. McCulloh, D.Phil.

Exec. Assistant to the President
Julia Bjordahl

Sr. Admin. Assistant
Geneva Finley

Admin. Assistant
Katie Galassi