Degree Requirements

The department offers two degrees, one major and one minor:

  • Bachelor of Science, Physics major
  • Bachelor of Arts, Physics major
  • Minor in Physics

Please reference the Undergraduate Catalog for course requirements specific to the Physics Department major and minor.

  • Students are expected to declare their major in this area in their freshman year.
  • Students in their sophomore year and students in the Florence program can be accommodated by special arrangement with the department.
  • The B.A. physics degree is intended to better allow College of Arts and Sciences students to complete double majors, therefore, students who earn a B.A. physics degree must also be earning a B.A. degree in another College of Arts and Sciences department.
  • Summer research opportunities within the department, as well as with other programs, such as Research Experience for Undergraduates (REU) programs, are encouraged.
Interested in law? With a major in the College of Arts and Sciences, you can accelerate your path to Gonzaga Law! Our 3+3 program allows highly motivated students to complete bachelor and law degrees a full year faster.
Applies to B.A., not B.S., in Physics.

Want to connect with the Physics Department?