March 19, 2019

O'Leary Lecture: Organic Electronics, or How to Conserve Energy and Produce Electricity the Organic Way

Event Details

Date & Time

Tuesday, Mar 19, 2019 7:30 PM - 8:30 PM


Chemistry and Biochemistry, Biology




Jepson's Wolff Auditorium

Event Type & Tags

  • Academics
  • Sustainability

About This Event

Jean-Luc Brédas is a Regents’ Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry and holds the Vasser-Woolley and Georgia Research Alliance Chair in Molecular Design at the Georgia Institute of Technology. His research interests focus on the computational characterization and design of novel organic materials for organic electronics and photonics.

Dr. Brédas received his Ph.D. from the University of Namur, Belgium, in 1979 and is a member of the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science, the Royal Academy of Belgium, and the European Academy of Sciences, where he serves as Officer of the Engineering Division. He is the recipient of the 1997 Francqui Prize, the 2000 Quinquennial Prize of the Belgian National Science Foundation, the 2001 Italgas Prize, the 2003 Descartes Prize of the European Union, the 2010 Charles H. Stone Award of the American Chemical Society, the 2013 David Adler Award in Materials Physics of the American Physical Society, and the 2016 Award in the Chemistry of Materials of the American Chemical Society.

He is also Fellow of the American Chemical Society (Inaugural Class of 2009), American Physical Society, Optical Society of America, Royal Society of Chemistry, and Materials Research Society (Inaugural Class of 2008), an Honorary Professor of the Institute of Chemistry of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, and has been a Georgia Research Alliance Eminent Scholar since 2005. He holds honorary degrees from the University of Linköping, Sweden, and the Free University of Brussels. He has published over 1,100 refereed articles (that have garnered over 75,000 citations, leading to a current Web of Science h-index of 124) and given over 500 invited presentations. Since 2008, he has served as Editor for Chemistry of Materials, published by the American Chemical Society.