GPILP (Public Interest Law)

What is GPILP?

The Gonzaga Public Interest Law Project is a 501c3 non-profit organization established in 1989 to raise funds in support of public interest work. GIPLP awards grants to GU Law students working in unpaid summer internships in public service organizations, including non-profit legal aid firms, government departments and pro-bono firms. 

GPILP’s vision is to “Make public service possible by empowering Gonzaga law students to serve the public interest and provide Gonzaga law students with opportunities to enhance their legal education through service.”

If you shop on Amazon, please consider shopping through Amazon Smile and choosing GPILP as your favorite charity. Doing so will donate .05% of your purchase to GPILP at no cost to you. View all GPILP activities and updates on their Zagtivities page!

Annual Activities

Payback! - get payback on your professors in this faculty trivia game show, hosted during the fall semester.

GPILP Auction - join GPILP for an evening of fine dining in the beautiful Hemmingson Center ballroom. Featuring both a live and silent auction, patrons can bid on items donated by local businesses and members of the GU law community. 

GPILP Hero Award - Every year, GPILP honors an outstanding member of the legal community for their passion and commitment to law in public service. Candidates for the Hero award are nominated by GU students and faculty. The award is presented at the annual charity auction.

Grant Awards - during the late spring semester, student who have secured an unpaid summer position working in public service may apply for a grant from GPILP.

GPILP Padfoilio Fundraiser - purchase a GPILP padfolio here and support our summer grant program!

2020 Summer Grant Recipients

Emily Ganz
Christine Meegan
Bailey Pahang
Sarah Vatne
Alicia Wasisco

Membership Fees

There are no membership fees.

Board Members

President: Erik Birnel
Vice President: Christine Meegan
Treasurer: Z Foster
Secretary: Simone Hanson
Auction Co-chair: Sara Fukuhara
Auction Co-chair: Rachel Platin
Payback! Chair: Anne Marggraf
Media Chair: Taylor Schaefer