Appointment of the VP Mission Search Committee

TO: The Gonzaga Community
FROM: Thayne M. McCulloh, Ph.D.
SUBJ: Appointment of the VP Mission Search Committee
DATE: February 4, 2011

As you will recall, at the beginning of the current academic year I appointed a Mission Advisory Group (hereafter, the “MAG”) to serve in a coordinating capacity while next steps regarding the leadership of a Mission Office were considered. As part of its charge, the group considered next steps relating to the currently-vacant position Vice President for Mission and concluded that the university would be well-served by having a Jesuit fill this role once more. Having received their recommendation, as well as revised position description that is the result of their careful and thoughtful effort, I am pleased to announce the formation of a Search Committee for the position of Vice President for Mission.

The Committee membership is comprised of individuals nominated by the Faculty President, the Staff Assembly, Student Government, the Board of Members and the Cabinet.

Joan Allbery, Associate Vice President/EVP Area (Chair)
Mary Garvin, College of Arts & Sciences/Religious Studies; MAG
Jane Hession, School of Business; Co-Chair, MAG
Connie Hickman, Communication Arts; Staff Assembly Nominee
Craig Hightower, S.J., Director of University Ministry; MAG
Bill Kostelec, Information Technology Services; Staff Assembly Nominee
Ken Krall, S.J., Arts & Sciences/Classical Languages & Board of Members’ Nominee
Steve Kuder, S.J., Rector; Trustee; Co-Chair, MAG
Ellen Maccarone, Arts & Sciences/Philosophy; MAG; Faculty Nominee
Patrick Presley, GSBA President; Student Representative
Matthew Rindge, Arts & Sciences/Religious Studies; MAG; Faculty Nominee
Maureen Sheridan, Counseling & Career Assessment Center; Student Life Nominee
John Sklut, Assistant Dean of Students-Law School
Jon Sunderland, Dean of the School of Education
John Traynor, Education; MAG

The search will commence immediately with the intention of having on-campus interviews with candidates this Spring. Please join me in thanking the members of the Search Committee for their willingness to serve our community in this important task. I am confident that the process they will structure will afford all constituents who desire it an opportunity to meet with finalists and provide input as a result.

Thayne M McCulloh

Thayne M. McCulloh, D.Phil.
Gonzaga University

Thayne M. McCulloh, D.Phil.

Chief of Staff to the President
John Sklut

Exec. Assistant to the President
Julia Bjordahl

Admin. Assistant/Event Coordinator
Allison Peterson