Law Dean Appointment

TO: The Gonzaga University Community
FROM: Thayne McCulloh, D.Phil., President, Patricia O’Connell Killen, Academic Vice President
SUBJ: Law Dean Appointment
DATE: January 7, 2011

After seven months of intense effort by the Law Dean Search Committee, culminating in several weeks of thoughtful deliberation by AVP Killen and myself, it is with pleasure that I announce the appointment of Gonzaga University's next Law School Dean, Jane B. Korn, J.D. The Search Committee, chaired by Trustee Don Curran, ranked Professor Korn as a "number one" on the list of recommended finalists.

Professor Korn, who will begin her tenure as dean this coming July, currently serves as Vice Dean and John D. Lyons Professor at the University of Arizona-James E. Rogers College of Law. An experienced faculty member and scholar, and an established administrator, Professor Korn's B.A. is from Rutgers University and her J.D. is from the University of Colorado Law School. She has received numerous awards for teaching and has held several key administrative positions while at the University of Arizona. The candidacy of Professor Korn, who interviewed on campus November 9-12, received widespread support from numerous constituencies, including the Law faculty and the Search Committee. We are pleased that Professor Korn has accepted this appointment, confident that she will work constructively with all members of the Law School community, and look forward to welcoming her to Gonzaga this coming summer.

I want to extend particular thanks to Don Curran for his excellent leadership, coordination and intense efforts in service to this important endeavor. It is the second consecutive time that Don has led our Law Dean search and once again it was executed with flawless effectiveness.

As with all dean appointments, Professor Korn's is subject to board confirmation, which we will seek at the upcoming February Board meeting. Thank you and Happy New Year!

Thayne M. McCulloh, D.Phil.

Chief of Staff to the President
John Sklut

Exec. Assistant to the President
Julia Bjordahl

Admin. Assistant/Event Coordinator
Allison Peterson