What is the DREAM Act?

The DREAM Act or the Development, Relief, and Education for Alien Minors Act, was introduced to the US Senate on May 11, 2011. This would not only benefit undocumented students but also promote a more prosperous United States. Undocumented students would be given the chance to contribute hard earned skills and talents to American communities all over the country.

DREAM Act Eligibility

The following is a list of specific requirements one would need in order to qualify for the current version of the DREAM Act.

  • Must have entered the United States before the age of 16 (i.e. 15 and younger)
  • Must have been present in the United States for at least five (5) consecutive years prior to enactment of the bill
  • Must have graduated from a United States high school, or have obtained a GED, or have been accepted into an institution of higher education (i.e. college/university)
  • Must be between the ages of 12 and 35 at the time of application
  • Must have good moral character

Learn more about the DREAM Act.

What is Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)?

"DACA is the name used of a process announced by the Secretary of Homeland Security on June 15, 2012. Under this process, if you came to the United States as a child and meet several key guidelines, you may contact U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS), a component of the Department of Homeland Security, to request consideration of deferred action. “Deferred action” refers to a decision to defer (delay or put off) removal action of an individual. DACA may be granted by USCIS for a period of two years and may be renewed under certain circumstances. Deferred action does not provide an individual with lawful status; however, recipients of deferred action may obtain work authorization."

Learn more about DACA.