University Committees

University Committees with Staff Representation

Gonzaga University has many committees made up of administrators, faculty and staff to help the University function efficiently and effectively.  Staff Assembly helps coordinate staff involvement in these committees, but does not provide direction to the committees. 


Mission Committee
The Staff Assembly President is appointed to the University Mission Committee.

Representative: Jeff Geldien (immediate-past Staff Assembly President)
Director, Alumni and Development, Law School

Campus Sustainability Steering Committee

Representative: Rachelle Strawther (Staff Assembly President)                                                                                                                                                                                                                                Asst. Director, Leadership Training and Development, SPS                


Board of Regents Representatives

 In an effort to help fulfill the mission of the Staff Assembly, we asked and were granted two Staff Regent positions. The Staff Regents are expected to serve a three year term, which will be staggered among the two representatives. Staff Regents will interact with university leaders, representing and addressing concerns and issues appropriate to the Staff Assembly mission.

To learn more about the responsibilities and eligibility requirements visit the Staff Assembly Regent Position webpage.  To apply for the position, click HERE to download the application.  Terms are June 1 through May 31 of the Gonzaga Fiscal Year.  For questions about the Staff Assembly Regent Position, send an email to

Representative 1: Dale Goodwin  (2015-2018)
Senior Writer & Communications Manager, Publications
Marketing & Communications
Ext. 6133

Representative 2: Gale Synder (2015-2019)
Program Assistant III
Teacher Education
Ext. 2161

Budget Committee Representatives
The University Budget Committee (UBC) is an advisory committee to the Vice President for Finance. The Vice President for Finance, who serves as Chairperson of the Committee, is a member ex officio as are all the vice presidents with operating responsibilities. In recognition of the importance of the annual operating budget, and the goal to be collaborative and transparent in its preparation, the University Budget Committee plays an important role. The term is three years.

The responsibilities of the UBC include, but are not limited to:
Develop a general understanding at a high level of the Operating Budget of the University, including understanding its major sources and concentrations of revenue, expenses and expense trends, and overall financial sustainability; receive regular updates on the financial performance of the University against the current operating budget; review and comment on the primary, high level, revenue and expense assumptions that drive the budget including, but not limited to, student headcount and credit generation, pricing, inflationary matters, overall compensation pools, reserves, and contingencies and to provide input on short-term and long-term budget strategies that seek to provide stability in the University’s budget and seek to maintain necessary financial and operating ratios for rating agency purposes. ** As representatives of various other governance groups (Faculty Senate, Faculty Assembly, Staff Assembly, and GSBA), report back to those groups as to the information shared and deliberated by the UBC.

Representative 1: Emily Livingston (2016 - 2019)                                                                                                                                                                   Registrar Services Coordinator                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        Registrar's Office                                                                                                                                                                                                   Ext.6355                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                      

Representative 2: Cynthia Smutny (2016-2018)
Director of Budget
School of Education
Ext. 3489

Benefits Advisory Committee Representatives
This committee works on university benefits  issues. This committee works closely with the Assistant Director of Benefits, Wellness and Safety, as well as the Staff Assembly Executive Council, to ensure staff members have all the necessary information regarding benefits.  This is a three year term.

Representative 1: Carol Huston (2015-2018)
Registrar's Office 
Ext. 6594

Representative 2: Heather Shilley (2016-2019)
Institutional Research
Ext. 6948

Representative 3: Jackie Van Allen (2017 - 2020)
Controller's Office, Grants
Ext. 6808

Representative 4: Rachel Young (2017-2020)                                                                                                                                                                              Nursing Department                                                                                                                                                                                                                       Ext. 5564

Representative 5: Kelly Price (2016-2019)
Alumni Engagement Office
Ext. 4259

Athletic Advisory Committee

Representative: Ryan Forim (2016 - 2019)
Client Services Supervisor, Registrar
Ext. 6509


Council on Equity, Inclusion and Intercultural Awareness

The Council on Equity, Inclusion and Intercultural Awareness exists to assess the campus climate and recommend specific strategies and institutional changes to the university in order to create a more inclusive environment. Meetings are held monthly, 90 minutes in length, from September to May, with additional committee work taking a few hours a month. The SA representative should be passionate about issues related to diversity and must be willing to attend meetings and communicate between the Council and the SAEC.

Representative 1: Amanda Braley                                                                                                                                                                                       Biology Department                                                                                                                                                                                                                      Ext 6671

Representative 2: Sean Joy                                                                                                                                                                                                 Center for Cura Personalis                                                                                                                                                                                                           Ext 5612