Eva Lassman Awards

Eva Lassman Awards

Each year, in honor of the life and memory of Holocaust survivor and educator Eva Lassman, the Institute for Hate Studies presents the Eva Lassman Awards to student researchers, individuals and organizations dedicated to combating hate. 

For more information about Eva's incredible life, see: 

If you are interested in making a gift to the Eva Lassman Memorial Fund, you can do so online or by contacting the Institute at 509-313-3665 or by using our Contact Us page.

Eva Lassman Memorial Student Research Award

2017 Inaugural Recipient
Marnie Rorholm, Doctoral Program in Leadership Studies
The Pink Triangle Prisoners: Memorializing Homophobia and the Holocaust

Eva Lassman Take Action Against Hate Awards 

Linda Pall, J.D., Ph.D.
World Outside My Shoes (Carl and Teresa Wilkens) 

Rev. Happy Watkins, New. Hope Baptist Church
Kootenai County Task Force on Human Relations

Mary Stamp, Editor, The Fig Tree
Partners with Families and Children; Spokane 

Dr. Raymond Reyes, Associate Academic Vice President and Chief Diversity Officer, Gonzaga University
Human Rights Education Institute, Coeur d'Alene, Idaho 

Eva Lassman
Holocaust Survivor, Spokane, Washington


Student Research Grant Awards

Hillary McNeel
Criminal Justice, University of Central Missouri -
"Hate Crimes Against American Indians/Alaska Natives"

Sarah Owens Williams
MATESL, Gonzaga University 
"Globalizing North Idaho: Using Ethnographies to Raise Awareness of Local Diversity"

Jourdan Cruz
Psychology, Gonzaga University 
"Implicit Racial Biases: Grappling with Modern Racism and Its Unconscious Manifestations" 

Michael Kincaid 
"Examining the Relationship between Helplessness and Hate"

Carla Hasley 
"Impacts of Holocaust Mandated Education on Secondary Education Teachers" 

502 E. Boone Ave.
AD Box 99
Spokane, WA 99258
Phone: (509) 313-3665