Minutes Advisory Council on Sustainability and Stewardship Tuesday, April 14 2015 Jepson 120, 12:10-1pm

In Attendance: Monica Barlett, Greg Gordon, Jim Simon, Ira Ford, Ken Sammons, Steve Whitfield, Jackie Van Allen, Katie Martens, Nancy Keller, Mari Schramm, Conny Garcia, Dionna Klein, John Stember, Nicole Bejar, Alaina Kowitz, Maddy Kern, Ann Ostendorf, Susanne Croft, and Danielle Moorhouse

Working on State of Sustainability Report

• An email with the report will be sent out in the near future, please review and send comments or suggestions

Director of Sustainability Update

- Campus
 - o LINC food CSA is still available
- Transportation
 - STA proposal submitted
 - Electric vehicle charging station to be installed (ChargePoint)
 - Wellness Committee
 - Bike to Work Week, May 11-15
- Culture
 - Living Future Conference- talked about ways to practice a state of sustainability, handprint vs footprint (what good vs what bad has been done)
- Communications
 - \circ 'In-Balance' Newsletter sent out this week to faculty, staff, and students
 - Carbon Neutrality Microsite- release/print coming out next week

*Film: Expo '74: Man Belongs to the Earth --> should be in Gonzaga Library, will check to see if available for viewing

Elections

• Steering Committee: composed of 6 faculty (5 voted), 3 students appointed by GSBA president, and staff appointed by various offices

Brainstorming for 2015-2016

- Short Term
 - o Strengthening Climate Action Plan by implementing measurable data points
 - IT Power Usage (get representation of IT in ACSS)
 - Partnering with CTA (faculty development program)
 - Sustainability teaching resources
 - Partnership with greenhouse and Hemmingson Center
 - Green event/office/lab certification

- Partnership with the Career Center, create jobs/resources for careers in sustainability
- Reengage in AASHE Stars process

0

- Long Term
 - Cataldo Project
 - Sustainability at Florence Campus
 - GHG inventory
 - access current situation
 - University host Sustainability Speaker, possibly one of the Presidential Speaker