School of Education

Dean: Jon D. Sunderland
Professors: J. Abi-Nader (Emerita), J. Burcalow (Emerita), M. Derby, A. Fein, D. Mahoney, T. F. McLaughlin, J. Nelson, K. Weber, R. Williams
Associate Professors: A. Barretto, E. Bennett, R. Bialozor (Emeritus), D. Booth, J. Cox, J. D’Aboy (Emeritus), J. Dixon (Emerita), B. Foster, P. Hastings, R. Park, C. Salina, J. Shepard, J. Sunderland, J. Traynor, D. Tunnell, M. Young
Assistant Professors: M. Brown, A. Case, S. Girtz, C. Johnson, G. Lenarduzzi, J. Reed, J. Lontz, K. Rickel
Lecturers: O.J. Cotes, C. Dieter, M. Griffin, M. Ghoston, K. Lambert, K. Nitta, E. Radmer

School of Education Mission Statement

The mission of the School of Education is to prepare socially responsive and discerning practitioners to serve their community and profession.

  • We model and promote leadership, scholarship and professional competence in multiple specializations.
  • We support an environment that is challenging, inclusive, reflective, and collegial.
  • We foster inquiry, intellectual creativity, and evidence-based decision making to accept the challenges facing a global society
  • We provide academic excellence in teaching, advising, service, and scholarship.
  • We promote, support and respect diversity.

The School of Education upholds the tradition of humanistic, Catholic, and Jesuit education.

The School of Education Mission has been summarized in the theme: “Socially responsible professionals who serve with care, competence, and commitment.”


All degree and certification programs in the School of Education are accredited by the National Council for Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE), and are recognized by the Washington Professional Educator Standards Board (PESB) as having approved programs for the preparation of teachers, counselors, and administrators. The School holds membership in the American Association of Colleges of Teacher Education (AACTE), the Association of Independent Liberal Arts Colleges for Teacher Education (AILACTE), the American Educational Research Association (AERA), Title II information may be found at the School of Education website: Additionally, the programs in counseling are accredited by the Council for the Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP), and the Anesthesiology program is accredited by the Council on Accreditation of Nurse Anesthesia Educational Programs (COA).


Degree programs offered in Alberta, Canada have been approved by the Alberta Ministry of Education and Technology, and the Campus Alberta Quality Council (CAQC).  Degree programs offered in British Columbia, Canada have received consent from the British Columbia Ministry of Advanced Education and the Degree Quality Assessment Board (DQAB).


While this catalogue provides students with the most current information regarding School of Education graduate programs, students are advised that programmatic changes are a common occurrence in the field of education and are usually the result of directives from the State Office for the Superintendent of Public Instruction and the National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education. The School of Education takes seriously its responsibility to communicate all changes to students. Students must be sure to see their advisors regularly to be in compliance with current regulations.

The School is organized into five departments. Following are the graduate degrees offered:

Graduate Admission

The School of Education Graduate Admissions Office processes the applications for all SOE graduate and certification programs. Refer to the program section in the catalogue for specific admission requirements. Program application deadlines are listed on the School of Education Web site

Time Requirements for Degrees

All work accepted toward a degree is to be completed within a five-year period from the date of acceptance into the program or from the first semester of graduate-level enrollment, or advanced credit, whichever occurs first.

Advanced Credit

Credit for graduate-level courses completed at Gonzaga prior to admission to a graduate program may be accepted for advancement into the program upon recommendation of the academic advisor. Such recommendation is forwarded to the Dean of the School of Education for final approval. Advance credits are limited to twelve.

Transfer Credit

The School of Education may accept up to one-fifth of the total number of credits required for a degree from another accredited college or university, six credits for most master’s programs. Courses must be clearly graduate level as defined by the granting institution. The subject matter of courses transferred must be relevant to the degree in question, which is determined by the academic advisor. The date of each course considered needs to be within five years of the beginning semester at Gonzaga. No course for which a grade less than “B” has been awarded may be accepted. Classes graded on a Pass/Fail scale will not be considered unless Pass is equivalent to “B”. Transfer credits are used in the calculation of the graduate grade point average. The School of Education Dean gives final approval for transfer credits. Forms are available from the academic advisor.