City of Los Angeles, State of California


by Joe Buscaino, Councilmember 15th District

National Gonzaga Day 2013

WHEREAS, in 1881, Father Joseph Cataldo purchased 328 acres of land next to the Spokane River in Washington state for 936 silver dollars; and

WHEREAS, six years later, Gonzaga University opened its doors to 19 male students with an all Jesuit faculty; and

WHEREAS, amid the changes they have undergone over 125 years, their mission has remained the same: to provide students with a Jesuit education that embodies the ethos of "cura personalis," or personal care and concern for the individual; and

WHEREAS, today, over 1,500 alumni call the City of Los Angeles their home; and

WHEREAS, notable alumni in Los Angeles include: Fr. Greg Boyle, SJ, Founder of Homeboy Industries; Fr. William Muller, SJ, President of Verbum Dei High School; Joe Bereta and Luke Barats, Barats and Bereta Comedy Team; Eric Edelstein, Actor; Robert Sacre, Los Angeles Lakers; Ronny Turiaf, Los Angeles Clippers; and

WHEREAS, every year, Gonzaga's comprehensive leadership program brings 12-15 students to Los Angeles during spring break for a week-long service experience. This experience for CLP students offers an opportunity to serve in various communities while reflecting on Robert Greenleaf's Servant Leadership principles, which is especially valuable in the City of Los Angeles;

NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, that by the adoption of this resolution, the Los Angeles City Council hereby recognizes Gonzaga University for 125 years of commitment to serving others, and its Los Angeles chapter for furthering its mission in this great City.

I HEREBY CERTIFY that the foregoing resolution was adopted by the Council of the City of Los Angeles at its meeting held January 15, 2013.

Joe Buscaino, Councilmember 15th District

Ed Reyes, Councilmember 1st District
Paul Krekorian, Councilmember 2nd District
Dennis P. Zine, Councilmember 3rd District
Tom LaBonge, Councilmember 4th District
Paul Koretz, Councilmember 5th District
Richard Alarcon, Councilmember 7th District
Bernard Parks, Councilmember 8th District
Jan Perry, Councilmember 9th District
Herb J. Wesson, Jr., Councilmember 10th District
Bill Rosendahl, Councilmember 11th District
Mitchell Englander, Councilmember 12th District
Eric Garcetti, Councilmember 13th District
Jose Huizar, Councilmember 14th District

June Lagmay, City Clerk

View other Community Support »