Support the Tradition

125th Anniversary

U.S. Senate Passes Murray, Cantwell Resolution Honoring Gonzaga's 125th Anniversary

Introduced and passed on January 31, 2013

by Senators Patty Murray (D-WA) and Maria Cantwell (D-WA)

Honoring Gonzaga University on its 125th anniversary.

WHEREAS, in 1881, at the request of the citizens of the City of Spokane Falls, Washington, Father Joseph Cataldo, S.J., a Jesuit from the Rocky Mountain Mission, committed to establishing a school along the banks of the Spokane River;

WHEREAS, on September 17, 1887, Gonzaga College officially opened its doors with an inaugural class of 18 students;

WHEREAS Gonzaga College, known today as Gonzaga University, has grown into a nationally recognized 4-year liberal arts university, where nearly 8,000 students can chose from more than 75 fields of study, select from 25 master's degree programs, and pursue doctoral degrees in law and leadership studies;

WHEREAS Gonzaga University is repeatedly listed as one of the best comprehensive regional universities in the west United States, is ranked second in the United States among small universities for alumni serving in the Peace Corps, and consistenly earns a place on the President's Higher Education and Community Service Honor Roll;

WHEREAS Gonzaga University invests more than $60,000,000 annually in scholarships and in financial assistance to its students; and

WHEREAS notable Gonzaga alumni include a former Speaker of the United States House of Representatives, a Governor of the State of Washington and the first female Attorney General of the State of Washington, the current Chaplain of the United States House of Representatives, judges of the United States district courts, and members of the Washington State Supreme Court: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate -

  1. honors Gonzaga University on its 125th anniversary;
  2. celebrates the commitment of Gonzaga University to its students and to educating the whole individual, including the mind, body, and spirit;
  3. applauds Gonzaga University for its dedication to instilling the importance of service to others and civic engagement; and
  4. congratulates the students, staff, faculty, alumni, and supporters of Gonzaga University for their many contributions in teh United States and abroad.

A note from President McCulloh

I am delighted that Senator Murray and Senator Cantwell have introduced and passed a United States Senate Resolution commemorating Gonzaga University's 125th anniversary. What an honor for our University to receive this special recognition.

We take great pride in our University's contributions over the past 125 years and look forward to leading the way in higher education for many decades to come.

Our anniversary celebration began at a Commencement last spring and continued into the fall with an Historic First Day of Classes event to commemorate the day Gonzaga opened its doors in 1887. This past week Gonzaga alumni around the globe celebrated the first ever National Gonzaga Day to underscore the University's gratitude to all those who have supported Gonzaga and our mission of educating the whole individual - mind, body, and spirit. And our anniversary celebration will continue right up to Graduation Day this May.

All of us at Gonzaga - students, faculty, administration and alumni - humbly thank the Senators for their support for our University and for honoring Gonzaga's rich history and tradition in the United States Senate.

Thayne M. McCulloh, D.Phil.


Download a PDF version of the resolution »

View other Community Support »