Gonzaga University
Gonzaga Online Newsletter
Top Story
Father Spitzer Reveals His Future Plans
Many have wondered what the future will hold for Gonzaga University President Robert J. Spitzer, S.J., when he leaves the presidency in mid-July following 11 years of service to his alma mater. Discover what’s in store for this outstanding leader, in his own words.
Read Full Story
Volunteer Experience Proves Transformative
Zag Pupil, Professor Tackle Vexing Science Problem
Tomorrow Made Possible' Event Thanks Benefactors
Florence Changes Each of Us, Forever
Couple Helps Students Learn about Lasting Love
Zag Fans Recover from Perilous Accident
Japanese Icon ‘Doraemon’ Comes West to Gonzaga
View All Current News Releases
Feedback
Give Green
Photo Slideshow
April 15, 6:00pm - 7:30pm
'Inspired to Learn' Presents GU Campus Architect Mac McCandless


April 16, 7:30pm
The Love Knot


April through May 9
Senior Thesis Art Exhibition Opens April 24


April 22, 7:30pm
Beth Cooley Reads for GU Visiting Writers Series


April 23 - 25
GU Theatre Presents 'Spring Dance Concert'


April 28, 6:00pm
"Inspired to Learn" presents Jesus' Table Manners


April 30, 7:30pm
Wind Symphony to Perform with 'Clarion'


May 9, 10, 16
Graduate, Undergraduate and
Law School Commencements


May 18
Academic Calendar - Summer Session


Athletic Schedules
www.GoZags.com


Easter Blessing
ZagsOnline.org
ZagsOnline.org
GU History
The Plunge, circa 1906. Note the showers
along the left side of the pool.
 
GONZAGA'S SWIMMING POOL
In April 1906, approximately 25 of Gonzaga’s 483 students became ill with typhoid fever. At first, the campus well was blamed. Upon advice of health officials, Gonzaga President Father Herman Goller, S.J., closed the school six weeks early and sent the boys home. In all, two students and one priest died from the illness. After a thorough investigation, it was determined that the illness was caused by water not circulating adequately in the Plunge, the swimming pool, in the basement of the Administration Building. The swimming pool was part of the east end addition of 1905. Lined with marble, the 50-by-20-foot pool included 16 showers. After the problem was fixed, the Plunge reopened and remained a swimming pool for at least another decade. Eventually, the University built over the top of the pool, which was recently removed to make room for office space.
For more detailed history about Gonzaga, visit: foley.gonzaga.edu/GUHistory. Photo and text courtesy of the GU Archives.